III.

IV.

Allowing for these exceptions it will be convenient to give here a general list of the Colonies and Protectorates under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State:-

(a) Tropical Africa, comprising -

On the east side of Africa; Kenya, Uganda, Nyasaland, Somaliland and the Tanganyika + Territory (late German East Africa), Zanzibar.

On the west side; Nigeria, the Gold Coast, Sierra Leone and the Gambia.

(b) Eastern Colonies and Protectorates. etc. e.g.

Ceylon, Hong Kong, the Straits Settlements, the Malay States, Weihaiwei.

(c) The West Indian Colonies. e.g.

Jamaica, Bahamas, Barbados, Windward Islands, Leeward Islands, Trinidad, etc., together with British Guiana and British Honduras.

- (d) Fiji and other islands in the Pacific.
- (e) Cyprus, Gibraltar and Malta, in the Mediterranean
- Various islands, e.g. Mauritius, Seychelles, Bermuda, Falkland Islands and St. Helena. (f)

(See also Miscellaneous No.96, page 5, enclosed).

In the Colonies and Protectorates mentioned in paragraph III the junior grades of the following branches of the service are filled by nomination:-

Medical Service in all colonies and protectorates

Certain Legal appointments

Scientific

+ The island of Pemba is included in the Zanzibar Protectorate.

2.