MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT

OF THE

RIGHT HON. LOUIS STEPHEN ST. LAURENT

(January 26, 1949)

Prime Minister; President of the Privy Council Right Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent
Minister of Trade and Commerce Right Hon. CLARENCE DECATUR HOWE
Minister of Agriculture Right Hon. James Garfield Gardiner
Minister of Mines and Resources 2Hon. James Angus MacKinnon
Secretary of State ³ Hon. Colin William George Gibson ⁴ Hon. F. Gordon Bradley
Minister of Labour Hon. Humphrey Mitchell
Minister of Public Works Hon, Alphonse Fournier
Postmaster General Hon. Ernest Bertrand
Minister of National Defence Hon, Brooke Claxton
Solicitor General for Canada Hon. Joseph Jean
Minister of Transport Hon. Lionel Chevrier
Minister of National Health and Welfare Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin
Minister of Finance and Receiver General Hon. Douglas Charles Abbott
Minister of National Revenue
Member of the Administration and Minister without portfolio
Minister of Veterans Affairs Hon. Milton Fowler Gregg
Minister of Fisheries
Secretary of State for External Affairs Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson
Minister of Justice and Attorney General Hon. STUART SINCLAIR GARSON
Minister of Reconstruction and Supply Hon. Robert Henry Winters

⁴ Appointed, April 1, 1949.

¹ Date of accession to office, November 15, 1948. ² Resigned office, April 1, 1949, and appointed Minister without portfolio. ³ Resigned office April 1, 1949, on appointment as Minister of Mines and Resources.