member of the Senate during the First Parliament, had resigned from the upper house, but he was elected member for Northumberland in 1872. He continued to serve as Minister of Marine and Fisheries during his transition from one chamber to the other.

There were further changes in the cabinet during the first half of 1873. Joseph Howe began the session as a member of the cabinet but resigned on 6 May 1873 to return to his native Nova Scotia as lieutenant-governor. Within weeks, on 1 June he was dead. Also, there were three new faces: Dr. Théodore Robitaille, appointed Receiver General on 30 January 1873; Hugh McDonald, who succeeded John O'Connor as President of the Privy Council on 14 June and went on to take Cartier's post as Minister of Militia and Defence, and Thomas N. Gibbs, member for Ontario South, who replaced Howe, after a brief interval, as Secretary of State for the provinces and Superintendent General of Indian Affairs on 14 June. None of the new faces was to make a mark in the Second Parliament. Of the 15 members of Macdonald's cabinet who participated in the First Session of 1873, Langevin, Tilley, Tupper and, to a lesser extent, Pope, stood at the Prime Minister's side as the principal spokesmen for the government in the Commons.

There were several by-elections during the First Session of the Second Parliament. One occurred in Durham West, a seat formerly held by Edward Blake. Blake had been elected in two Ontario ridings in 1872 and early in the new session decided to sit for Bruce South. Edmund Burke Wood, who had been an M.P. during the First Parliament as well as a colleague of Blake's in the Ontario government in 1871-1872, was elected in an early April by-election to fill the vacant second seat. One re-elected Quebec member, Hon. P. J. O. Chauveau, the former premier of the province, was appointed to the Senate shortly before the session opened and was replaced in a late March by-election by J. P. R. A. Caron. Also, M. H. Goudge took over the late Joseph Howe's seat in Hants in a by-election in July.

Electoral methods were a continuing bone of contention in the 1873 sessions. The opposition charged that Macdonald and his colleagues used the conduct of federal general elections by open voting rather than by secret ballot, and with different voting dates in different ridings rather than everyone voting on the same day, to gain electoral advantage. The general election of 1872 had been conducted according to this model. The secret ballot was still not required by law in that election. Writs for the election were issued on 15 July and were to be returnable by 3 September, but exceptions were made for the electoral district of Gaspé, with its scattered coastal communities, and for the far-flung riding of Chicoutimi and Saguenay, as well as for the seats in Manitoba and British Columbia. For these distant constituencies writs were returnable by 12 October. The Liberals had sought electoral reform in the First Parliament and returned to the subject in the Second, but their efforts were again unsuccessful. It was not until they had assumed office late in 1873 and had won a new mandate in the 1874 general election that the way was prepared for electoral change.

However, the end of dual representation, by which federal members could also sit in provincial legislatures, came into effect across the Dominion through the action of Parliament in the First Session of 1873. Although dual representation had never been allowed for Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, it had been permitted in the two Central Canadian provinces and in Manitoba and British Columbia. In the 1872 parliamentary session, for instance, there were twenty members of the House of Commons who were also members of provincial legislatures. From Quebec there were fourteen members who held seats in the Legislative Assembly, and four in the Legislative Council. Ontario had eight members who also sat in the Assembly in Toronto. Two of the three sitting members from Manitoba in 1873 were also members of the provincial