axis in every twenty-four hours. It is accompanied by the moon, which keeps constantly revolving around the earth.

The solar system, roughly speaking, may be said to consist of eight large planets. namely, Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune, with their moons. There are also many smaller bodies between Mars and Jupiter. All of these bodies are travelling around the sun, it being the centre of our solar system. The planets, however, do not travel in true circular orbits, but in elliptical orbits, the sun occupying one of the foci. The planets are travelling on near an imaginary plane which or "plane of the astronomers call the Ecliptic," and the direction is from west to east.

The motion decreases in velocity as the distance from the sun increases, or, in other words, Mercury, the nearest known planet to the sun, travels faster in its orbit or path around the sun than does Venus; and Venus, the next nearest planet to the sun, travels with greater velocity than the earth, and so on until the most distant planet is reached. Some of the