said Court of Common or Civil pleas hereby constituted, and any two or more of them shall then and there proceed in the like manner in every respect as the Justices of the said last mentioned Courts of King's Bench in each of the said Districts respectively, were by law authorised and empowered, directed and required then and there to proceed before the passing of this Act, and in each and every such superior term shall have, hold and exercise the like and the same Jurisdiction, powers and authorities in every respect as the Justices of the said last mentioned Courts of King's Bench respectively, or any two or more of them in the said superior term of such Courts of King's Bench respectively by law had, held and exercised before the passing of this Act, and no more.

A President to be appointed to each division of the said Court

VI And be it further enacted, by the authority aforesaid, that in each of the said divisions of the said Court of Common Pleas, hereby constituted, respectively, such one of the Justices of the said Court as by the Governor, Lieutenant-Governor or Person administering the Government of the Province, for the time being, shall be appointed to be President in such division, being present therein or in the terms or sessions of such Court of Common or Civil Pleas, shall preside therein; and all writs and process, to be issued from and out of the said Court of Common or Civil Pleas, shall be tested in the name of such President of the said Court of Common or Civil Pleas, for the time being.

Governor within two years after the passing of this act to divide the three districts into circuits or arrondissements,

VII. And be it further enacted by the authority aloresaid, that it shall and may be lawful to and for the Governor, Lieutenant-Governor or person administering the Government of the Province for the time being, within two years next after the passing of this Act, by Proclamation, under the Great Seal of this Province. to divide the three Districts of the said Province, severally and respectively into circuits or arrondissements, in manner following; that is to say, to divide the District of Quebec into three circuits or arrondissements, the District of Montreal into four circuits or arrandissements, and the District of Three-Rivers into three circuits or arrondissements which said circuits or arrondissements shall be distinguished by numbers, the several circuits comprehending the Cities of Quebec, Montreal and Three-Rivers, being severally and respectively distinguished by the name of the first circuit of