QUESTIONS

(Questions answered orally are indicated by an asterisk.)

BANK OF CANADA

Mr. HANSELL:

1. What is the salary of the governor of the Bank of Canada?

2. What are the salaries of each of the other officials of the Bank of Canada at Ottawa, excepting secretarial and office staff?

3. What are the salaries of each of the directors of the Bank of Canada, what other remunerations do they receive, and how much is allowed per day for travel and living expenses?

4. How many times, and on what dates did the directorate of the Bank of Canada meet since January 1, 1936?

5. Does any member of the dominion government sit on or with the directorate of the bank? If so, what powers does such member have?

6. Are the minutes of the meetings of the directorate available to the members of the House of Commons?

7. Is any or all correspondence exchanged between the Bank of Canada and the Bank of England available to the members of the House of Commons?

Mr. RALSTON:

1. Salary of the governor of the Bank of Canada, as fixed by order in council, is at the rate of \$30,000 per annum.

2. The salaries of the deputy governor and assistant deputy governor, as fixed by order in council, are at the rate of \$20,000 per annum and \$10,000 per annum respectively: no information concerning other officials and employees.

3. Each director receives a fee of \$150 for attendance at board meetings and an expense allowance of \$20 per day for time spent in travelling to and from board meetings. The director who is a member of the executive committee receives a fee of \$50 for attendance at committee meetings and the same travel allowance as above. No other remuneration is paid to directors. (The governor and deputy governor of the bank and the deputy minister of finance, who are members of the board and of the executive committee, do not receive any remuneration or expenses for attendance at board or committee meetings).

4. The board of directors of the Bank of Canada met on the following dates subsequent to January 1, 1936: (1936) Jan. 22, Feb. 25, May 20, Oct. 7, Dec. 7. (1937) Jan. 22, Feb. 23, June 22, Aug. 10, Nov. 12. (1938) Jan. 21, Feb. 22, May 30, Sept. 12, Nov. 7. (1939) Feb. 6, April 24, June 26, Sept. 11, Nov. 20. (1940) Feb. 9, April 19 and June 14.

In addition, the executive committee of the bank has met at least once every week.

Questions

5. No, but in accordance with the provisions of section 5, subsection 2 of the act, the deputy minister of finance is a member of the board, but has not the right to vote.

6. No.

7. No.

CAMP BORDEN AND TRENTON AIRPORTS-REPAIR FACILITIES

Mr. COCKERAM:

Are there sufficient repair facilities available at Camp Borden and Trenton airports to enable ground personnel to keep the maximum number of planes in operation?

Mr. POWER: At the present time there are not sufficient repair facilities available at Camp Borden or Trenton to keep the maximum number of planes in operation. Existing facilities are being expanded as rapidly as possible and the Department of Munitions and Supply is organizing the industry to undertake overhauls and to do major repairs. The R.C.A.F. will undertake running maintenance repairs only.

PRAIRIE FARM REHABILITATION ACT—PERSONNEL OF GENERAL COMMITTEES EXPENDITURES

Mr. DOUGLAS (Weyburn):

1. What is the personnel of the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Act committees in (a) Manitoba, (b) Saskatchewan, (c) Alberta?

2. What remuneration did they receive in the form of (a) salary; (b) expenses?

3. What was the amount spent in each of the prairie provinces?

4. By provinces, what was the amount (a) received for machinery sold, (b) spent in the purchasing or leasing of land?

Mr. GARDINER:

1. There are no provincial committees under the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Act but general committees are as follows:—

Advisory committee on water development: J. Vallance, Regina, Sask., chairman; W. L. Jacobson, Regina, Sask., secretary; B. Russell, Regina, Sask., consulting engineer; L. C. Charlesworth, Edmonton, Alberta; C. J. McGavin, Regina, Sask.; B. B. Hogarth, Winnipeg, Man.

Advisory committee on land utilization: E. S. Archibald (Chairman), Ottawa, Ont., Dominion Department of Agriculture; John Vallance, Regina, Sask., Dominion Department of Agriculture; W. L. Jacobson (secretary), Regina, Sask., Dominion Department of Agriculture; O. S. Longman, Edmonton, Alta, Province of Alberta; J. Ellis, Winnipeg, Man., Province of Manitoba; F. H. Auld, Regina, Sask., Province of Saskatchewan; J. H. McCann, Admiral, Sask., Provincial Municipal