The Vice-Presidents of the General Assembly

The General Assembly also elects seventeen Vice-Presidents. If the President finds it necessary to be absent during the whole or part of a meeting, he appoints one of the Vice-Presidents to take his place.

In 1963, the General Assembly decided that the Vice-Presidents would be elected according to the following pattern:

- Seven from the Afro-Asian group One from the East European group (a)
- (b)
- (c) Three from the Latin American group
- Two from the Western European and Other Group (which includes Canada) (d)
- Five from the permanent members of the Security Council. (e)

The main committees

The General Assembly deals with most of its work through seven main committees on which all members have the right to be represented. Though each member may be represented by only one person on each committee, each may assign advisers and experts to these committees. Upon the designation of the chairman of each delegation, such advisers and experts may act as members of the committee. Quorum is one-quarter of the members of each committee, but the presence of a majority of the members is required for a question to be put to the vote. Decision is by majority.

(See Rules 98-134 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Assembly)

The seven chairmen of the main committees are elected on the following pattern:

- three from the Afro-Asian group (a)
- (b) one from the East European group (c) one from the Latin American group
- one from the Western European and Other Group (d)
- one to rotate every alternate year among representatives of groups (c) (e) and (d).

The main committees are as follows:

FIRST COMMITTEE

- Political and Security Committee (including the regulation of armaments)

ship agreements for all areas not design

SPECIAL POLITICAL COMMITTEE

- Special Political Committee (political questions not discussed by the First Committee)

SECOND COMMITTEE

- Economic and Financial Committee

THIRD COMMITTEE

- Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee