

Accession: The process of becoming a contracting party to a multilateral agreement such as the WTO. Negotiations with established WTO contracting parties, for example, determine the concessions (trade liberalization) or other specific obligations a non-member country must undertake before it will be entitled to full WTO membership benefits.

Applied Tariffs: An applied tariff is the rate of duty actually in effect at the border.

Anti-Dumping (AD): Additional duties imposed by an importing country in instances where imports are priced at less than the "normal" price charged in the exporter's domestic market and are causing material injury to domestic industry in the importing country.

APEC: Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation forum. APEC comprises 21 countries around the Pacific Rim that seek further Asia Pacific economic co-operation. Members are Australia; Brunei; Canada; Chile; China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; the Philippines; Russia; Singapore; Chinese Taipei (Taiwan); Thailand; the United States; Vietnam.

Binding: A nation's commitment to maintain a particular tariff level or other legal restriction, i.e., binding it against increase or change.

Built-in Agenda: Refers to a set of activities to be undertaken in the WTO at different times in the future, including reviews and further negotiations, which are already inscribed in the various agreements annexed to the WTO Agreement, plus a series of activities that originate in ministerial decisions or declarations adopted along with the Final Act of the Uruguay Round at the Marrakesh Ministerial Meeting in April 1994.

Cairns Group: A coalition of fifteen agricultural exporting countries (Australia, New Zealand, Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Thailand, the Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, South Africa, Fiji, Paraguay and Canada) that develops proposals on agriculture during the Uruguay Round.

Canada-EU Action Plan: Signed on December 17, 1996, the Action Plan is designed to strengthen Canada-EU relations and consists of four parts: Economic and Trade Relations, Foreign Policy and Security Issues, Transnational Issues, and Fostering Links.