give

nent

ary

in

ent

me'

hat

ish

an

4,

or

n,

st id

0

The summary than states, shortly, the provisions of the Act, under appropriate heads, as follows:—

How the Parliaments are to be formed.—Each Parliament is to include a House of Commons and a Senate. The members of the House of Commons are to be elected by the people of Ireland (men and women) on the proportional representation system.

The Senate of the Southern Parliament is to consist of the Lord Chancellor of Ireland, the Lord Mayors of Dublin and Cork, and sixty-one other members, including four archbishops or hishops of the Roman Catholic Church, two archbishops or bishops of the Protestant Church of Ireland, seventeen representatives of commerce, labour, and the learned and scientific professions, sixteen Irish peers, eight Irish Privy Councillors and fourteen representatives of the county councils of Southern Ireland.

The Senate of the Northern Parliament is to consist of the Lord Mayor of Belfast, the Mayor of Londonderry and twenty-four other members, who are to be elected by the Northern House of Commons on the proportional representation system.

Powers of the Parliaments.—Each Parliament will have power to make laws for the peace, order and good government of Southern or Northern Ireland in all matters relating exclusively to Southern or Northern Ireland, as the case may be. Certain matters are definitely excluded from the powers of the Parliaments, but, with these exceptions, the whole field of legislation will be open to them.

It would, we are told, be impossible to give a complete list of the subjects with which the Parliaments can deal, for everything seems to be included that the Government of a State could be called upon to provide for, or provide against, except that the police are not to be interfered with until after an interval not exceeding three years, and certain taxation is to be reserved.

Powers of the Governments.—All matters within the jurisdiction of the Parliaments of Southern Ireland and Northern Ireland will be administered by the Governments of Southern Ireland and Northern Ireland respectively. There will be separate Departments in Southern and Northern Ireland. It will rest finally with each of the new Governments and Parliaments to decide what their Government Departments are to be; but for