Philippines were elected on the first ballot, receiving 51 votes, Czechoslovakia received 20 votes, and Afghanistan, Syria and Yugoslavia one vote each.

In Plenary Session on December 19, elections were held to fill the non-permanent seats of the Security, Economic and Social, and Trusteeship Councils, which became vacant at the end of 1956. Colombia, Iraq and Sweden were elected as non-permanent members of the Security Council for two-year terms beginning January 1, 1957 replacing Belgium, Iran and Peru.

Six members of the Economic and Social Council were named for three-year terms beginning January 1, 1957. Of this group, Pakistan, the U.S.S.R. and the United Kingdom were re-elected, and Mexico, Poland and Finland were elected to replace Czechoslovakia, Ecuador and Norway.

India and Haiti were re-elected as non-administering countries on the Trusteeship Council for three-year terms beginning January 1, 1957.

On November 28, the Sixth Committee of the United Nations voted to increase the membership of the International Law Commission from fifteen to twenty-one seats.

The Sixth Committee also came to an informal agreement that of the six new seats, one should be filled by an Eastern European country, one by a Western European country and three by Afro-Asian countries. The remaining seat is to be allocated in rotation to a Latin American and a Commonwealth country. It was decided that a Latin American would occupy this seat during the immediately forthcoming term and that a Commonwealth representative should be chosen for the term commencing in 1962.

Following the adoption by the General Assembly of the Report of the Sixth Committee, elections to the enlarged ILC were held on December 18, 1956 and the following members were elected on the first ballot: Spiropoulos (Greece), Pal (India), Nervo (Mexico), Scelle (France), Amado (Brazil), Edmonds (U.S.A.), Garcia-Amador (Cuba), Zourek (Czechoslovakia), Fitzmaurice (U.K.), Tunkin (U.S.S.R.), El-Khoury (Syria), Daftary (Iran), Bartos (Yugoslavia), El-Eriam (Egypt), Sandstrom (Sweden), Yokota (Japan), Ago (Italy), Khoman (Thailand), Hsu (China), François (Netherlands), Verdross (Austria).