### Commissioners of Internal Economy

Commissioners for the purposes and under the provisions of Chapter H-9 of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970, entituled, An Act respecting the House of Commons: The Hon. Mitchell Sharp, the Hon. Allan Joseph MacEachen, the Hon. Charles Mills Drury and the Hon. Jean Chrétien.

### [English]

**Hon. Marcel Lambert (Edmonton West):** Mr. Speaker, I wish to raise a question of privilege at this juncture.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. The hon. member for Edmonton West (Mr. Lambert) on a question of privilege.

**Mr. Lambert:** The question relates to the privileges of the House as they are affected by the implementation by the Prime Minister (Mr. Trudeau) of section 16(1) of the Senate and House of Commons Act. Because of today's timetable, however, and because there has been agreement, I shall defer my argument and exposé of the question of privilege to a date which has been mutually agreed. In effect, it means that the legislation does not require that the Commissioners of Internal Economy shall be members of the cabinet. They must be Privy Councillors. The interpretation of the legislation, as I am advised and persuaded, is that the commissioners should come from members of the Privy Council in the House generally, and not exclusively from within the cabinet.

\* \* \*

### [Translation]

# STANDING COMMITTEES

## Right Hon. P. E. Trudeau (Prime Minister) moved:

That, according to the provisions of Standing Order 65, a Striking Committee be appointed to prepare and report a list of members to compose the standing committees of this house and that such committee be composed of Messrs. Sharp, Lefebvre, Baldwin, McKinley, Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) and Fortin; and that the provisions of Standing Order 65(1) not apply with regard to the number of members on such committee.

Motion agreed to.

# HOUSE OF COMMONS

[English]

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES OF THE WHOLE

**Right Hon. P. E. Trudeau (Prime Minister):** Mr. Speaker, I move, seconded by the President of the Privy Council (Mr. Sharp):

That Gérald Laniel, Esq., member for the electoral district of Beauharnois-Salaberry, be appointed Chairman of Committees of the Whole House.

Motion agreed to.

[English]

### Committees of the Whole

#### APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES OF THE WHOLE

**Right Hon. P. E. Trudeau (Prime Minister):** Mr. Speaker, I move, seconded by the President of the Privy Council (Mr. Sharp), that Keith Penner, Esq., member for the electoral district of Thunder Bay, be appointed Deputy Chairman of Committees of the Whole House.

Motion agreed to.

#### [Translation]

### APPOINTMENT OF ASSISTANT DEPUTY CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES OF THE WHOLE

**Right Hon. P. E. Trudeau (Prime Minister):** Mr. Speaker, I move, seconded by the President of the Privy Council (Mr. Sharp):

That Mrs. Albanie Morin, member for the electoral district of Louis-Hébert, be appointed Assistant Deputy Chairman of Committees of the Whole House.

Motion agreed to.

[English]

### THRONE SPEECH DEBATE

Right Hon. P. E. Trudeau (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, I move, seconded by the President of the Privy Council (Mr. Sharp), that notwithstanding Standing Order 63, the House shall not be adjourned on Wednesday, October 2, 1974, until the leaders of all parties have spoken in the Address debate.

Motion agreed to.

[Translation]

**Right Hon. P. E. Trudeau (Prime Minister):** Mr. Speaker, this concludes our business for today. Therefore, I move, seconded by the President of the Privy Council (Mr. Sharp):

That the House do now adjourn.

[English]

**Mr. Speaker:** This House will stand adjourned until tomorrow at 2 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order.

Motion agreed to and the House adjourned at 4.39 p.m.