HISTORY NOTES.

INTRODUCTORY.

I. THE THREE ESTATES of the British Realm are the Sovereign, the Lords and the Commons.

2. THE LEGISLATURE, in Canada, also consists of three branches: The Governor General (who represents the Sovereign), the Senate, and the House of Commons.

These three branches must give their consent to every Bill before it can become law.

3. THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL is the chief executive officer. He assembles, prorogues and dissolves Parliament, and assents to all Bills not reserved for Her Majesty's pleasure.

4. The Senate corresponds to the House of Lords in England. It may originate Bills not relating to the revenue, and may reject any Bill passed by the Commons.

5. THE HOUSE OF COMMONS consists of representatives chosen by the electors in counties, cities and towns. It controls the revenue and expenditure of the nation.

6. THE EXECUTIVE of the Dominion consists of the Governor-General and a Cabinet or Ministry of thirteen members.