Speaker being Chairman of the Board. The direction and control of the Library of Parliament, and of its officers, are vested in the two Speakers, assisted during the Session by a Joint Committee appointed by the two Houses. Members of the Commons and the Senate receive a sessional indemity at the rate of \$10 per diem if the Session is less than thirty days, and \$1,000 a Session if it extends beyond that time, together with an allowance of 10 cents per mile for travelling expenses. Twenty members, including the Speaker, constitute a quorum. Questions arising in the Commons are decided by a majority of voices other than that of the Speaker, and when the voices are equal, but not otherwise, the Speaker shall have a vote.

At the last general election for the House of Commons, held in February, 1887, the total number of electors on the voters' lists (excluding the North-West Territo-

ries, where there were no lists) amounted to 983,599.

C.—Local Legislatures.

The Constitutions of the four Provinces, viz., Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, which composed the Dominion in 1867, when the Confederation Act was passed, are the same in principle and details, except in the case of Ontario, where there is only one Chamber, a Legislative Assembly. The same may be said of the other Provinces that have been admitted into the Union since the date men-All the provisions of the Confederation Act that applied to the original Provinces were, as far as possible, made applicable to them, just as if they had formed part of the Union in 1867. Manitoba was given a constitution similar to the other Provinces, and it was expressly provided in the terms of Union with British Columbia that the Government of Canada would consent to the introduction of Responsible Government into that Province, and that the constitution of the Legislature should be amended by making a majority of its members elective. Immediately upon the union with Canada these reforms were carried out and the Province was placed on the same footing as all the other Provinces. All the Local or Provincial Constitutions are now, therefore, practically on an equality, so far as the Executive, Legislative, and all essential powers of self-government are concerned; and all of them have the authority, under the fundamental law, to amend their constitutions, except as regards the office of Lieutenant Governor. British Columbia and Manitoba have accordingly availed themselves of their constitutional privileges, and there is now only one House, elected by the people, in those Provinces. In all the Provinces, at the present time, there is a very complete system of local self-government, adm nistered under the authority of the Confederation Act, and by means of the following machinery:-

1st. A Lieutenant Governor, appointed by the Governor General in Council, who holds office during pleasure, and shall not be removable within five years from his appointment, except for cause assigned, which, under the constitution, must be communicated to Parliament. He is therefore an officer of the Dominion, as well as the head of the Local Executive, and possesses within his constitutional sphere all the authority of a Lieutenant Governor before Confedertion. He acts in accordance with the rules and conventions governing the relations between the Governor General and his Ministry. He appoints his Executive Council, and is guided by their advice, so long as they retain the confidence of the Legislature. The salaries of Lieutenant Governors, which are paid by the Dominion Treasury, vary, from \$7,000, given in the smaller Provinces, to \$10,000, paid in larger and more important Provinces, like Ontario and Quebec. These officers are also, appointed by Commission under the

Great Seal, and on appointment must take the Oath of Allegiance.

2nd. An Executive or advisory Council, responsible to the Legislature, which Council comprises from eight members in the larger Provinces to three in the smaller ones. Their official titles also vary in some cases, but generally there is in every Excutive Council an Attorney-General, a Provincial Secretary and a Commissioner of Crown Lands. In the Ontario Government there is a Minister of Education, constituted in view of that branch of the local public service being considered of exceptional importance in that Province. All the members of the Executive Council who hold