

EMBARGOED UNTIL JANUARY 1, 1989

No. 259

December 30, 1988.

CANADA ASSUMES ITS SECURITY COUNCIL SEAT

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, announced that as of today (January 1st), Canada officially begins its fifth two-year term as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council.

Although there is no set calendar of Council meetings, we expect the Council's first order of business in January will be consideration of the implementation of U.N. Security Council Resolution No. 435 dealing with Namibian independence. During its last term on the Council (in 1977/78), Canada played a major role in the development of the United Nation's plans for Namibia. "Canada looks forward to continuing to make a constructive contribution to Namibia's long awaited independence", said Mr. Clark.

Serving alongside Canada will be the five permanent members of the Security Council: China, France, the USSR, the United Kingdom and the United States, and the nine other non-permanent members: Algeria, Brazil, Colombia, Ethiopia, Finland, Malaysia, Nepal, Senegal and Yugoslavia. There is a rotating system for chairing the Security Council; Canada will assume the chairmanship in October 1989.

- 30 -

Secretary of State for External Affairs Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures

18+0 Canar