ternational Civil Aviation Organization. Article 44 of the 1944 convention assigns to ICAO the functions of "developing the principles and techniques of international air navigation and fostering the planning and development of international air transport so as to ensure the safe and orderly growth of international civil aviation throughout the world". The convention also establishes the sovereignty of each government over its own air-space, lists certain basic rights its signatories accord to one another, governs the provision of the facilities needed for international air operations, and provides for the peaceful settlement of disputes.

ICAO met first in Montreal in 1945 as a provisional body. By 1947, when ratifications brought the convention formally into being, it had already made considerable progress towards the achievement of its aims.

Structure and activities

The Organization consists of the Assembly, the Council, assisted by a number of subordinate bodies including the Air Navigation Commission (which is responsible for technical air navigation matters), and the Secretariat.

The Assembly, in which all member states are invited to participate, is convened every three years to establish the general policy of the organization and to approve its budget. The twenty-second regular session

was held in Montreal from September 13 to October 5, 1977. Extraordinary sessions may be held from time to time.

The Council, the executive body of the organization, sits in permanent session at headquarters in Montreal. It has, at present, 30 members, consisting of ten representatives from each of the following groups:

- (a) states of chief importance in air transport;
- (b) states (not otherwise included) that make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation;
- (c) states (not otherwise included) whose designation will ensure that all major geographical areas of the world are represented.

The Council elects its president for a term of three years, and he may be re-elected. The president need not be selected from among representatives of the members of Council.

The Secretariat is headed by a Secretary-General elected by the Council and has over 900 employees, including headquarters staff and the staffs of six regional offices (Paris, Dakar, Cairo, Mexico City, Lima and Bangkok), as well as technical-assistance experts on assignment in developing countries.