On Apr. 1, 1949, the day after Union became effective, Sir Albert Walsh, formerly Commissioner of Justice and Defence in the Commission of Government, who had been chairman of the Newfoundland delegation to Ottawa in 1948, was sworn in as Lieutenant-Governor of the new Province. The new Lieutenant-Governor promptly called upon Mr. J. R. Smallwood, who had been a member of the 1947 and 1948 delegations to Ottawa, to form an interim government.\*

In the first provincial election, held on May 27, 1949, Mr. Smallwood's government was sustained by a large majority, winning 23 out of a total of 28 seats. The first provincial legislature was summoned to meet on July 13, 1949.†

Newfoundlanders participated for the first time in a Federal election in June, 1949. Seven Newfoundland members<sup>‡</sup> were elected to the Canadian House of Commons, including Mr. F. Gordon Bradley, whose appointment as Secretary of State for Canada had been announced by the Canadian Prime Minister on April 1. Mr. Bradley also had been a member of both Newfoundland delegations to Ottawa to discuss confederation. Newfoundland is to be represented in the Canadian Senate by six members.<sup>§</sup>

## ★ Municipal and Local Government

In contrast with central government, local government has been slow to develop in Newfoundland because the communities are small and scattered and because cash incomes have until recently been low and the people unaccustomed and opposed to direct taxation. Over wide areas the provision of services and their control has in the past fallen to the central government, which derived its revenues almost wholly from indirect taxes.

Of the urban areas, St. John's was the only incorporated municipality up to 1942. In 1933 a Local Government Act had been passed but it was not until November, 1942, that the first two municipalities outside St. John's were established. As of July, 1949, there were 21 incorporated municipalities, besides St. John's, with an average population of between 1,000 and 2,000. In 1948 the

<sup>\*</sup> Premier and Minister of Economic Development, Hon. J. R. Smallwood, Minister of Health, Hon. H. W. Quinton; Minister of Social Welfare, Hon. H. L. Pottle; Minister of Home Affairs, Hon. P. S. Forsey; Minister of Public Works, Hon. M. J. Sinnott; Minister of Labour, Hon. C. H. Ballam; Minister of Education, Hon. S. J. Hefferton; Minister of Finance, Hon. G. A. Winter; Minister of Justice, Hon. L. R. Curtis; Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. W. J. Keough; Minister of Supply, Hon. Addison Bown.

of Natural Resources, Hon. W. J. Reough; Minister of Supply, Hon. Addison Bown.

The Cabinet of the first elected Provincial Government included: Premier and Minister of Economic Development, Hon. J. R. Smallwood; Minister of Provincial Affairs, Hon. J. J. Spratt; Minister of Health, Hon. J. R. Chalker; Minister of Welfare, Hon. H. L. Pottle; Minister of Education, Hon. S. J. Hefferton; Minister of Finance, Hon. H. W. Quinton; Minister of Justice, Hon. L. R. Curtis; Minister of Labour, Hon. C. H. Ballam; Minister of Public Works, Hon. E. S. Spencer; Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. E. Russell; Minister of Fisheries and Co-operatives, Hon. W. J. Keough; Minister of Supply, Hon. P. S. Forsey.

<sup>‡</sup> Hon. F. G. Bradley (Bonavista-Twillingate); Hon. C. W. Carter (Burin-Burgeo); Hon. T. G. W. Ashbourne (Grand Falls-White Bay); Hon. W. R. Kent (Humber-St. George's); Hon. G. F. Higgins (St. John's East); Hon. W. J. Browne (St. John's West); Hon. L. T. Stick (Trinity-Conception).

<sup>§</sup> Newfoundland Members of the Senate appointed Aug. 17, 1949: Alex. D. Baird (St. John's); Ray Petton (St. John's); G. J. Penny (Ramea) (deceased Dec. 4, 1949).