

PRESS RELEASE

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS OTTAWA - CANADA

No.54

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 16, 1951

The Secretary of State for External Affairs today announced the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Sixth Session of the General Assembly, which opens in Paris on November 6. The Delegation is as follows:

Representatives:

The Hon. L.B. Pearson, M.P. - Secretary of State for External Affairs - Chairman of the Delegation

The Hon. Stuart Garson, M.P. - Minister of Justice -Vice-Chairman of the Delegation

Senator J.R. Hurtubise, M.D., C.M.

Mr. Maurice Bourget, M.P.

Mrs. R.J. Marshall - Past-President of the National Council of Women

Alternate Representatives:

Mr. Colin E. Bennett, M.P.

Mr. T.A. Stone, Canadian Minister to Sweden

Mr. D.M. Johnson, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations (Designate)

Mr. R.M. Macdonnell, Minister at the Canadian Embassy in Paris

Mr. J.F. Parkinson, of the Department of Finance, Minister at the Canadian Embassy in Paris

Mr. A.R. Crépault, Secretary-General of the Delegation The Delegation will include Parliamentary Advisers from the Government and Opposition Parties in the House of Commons. Appropriate Advisers will be drawn from the Department

of External Affairs and the Department of Finance in Ottawa

and from Canadian missions in Europe.

7HLarson MP (Kindering Lib)) 1 Whenes grimts forms hen. & Meurices VCMP (Nanume - Pr.) JU 23- 10