that a use of ne dioy and man to

l, that ess, be copies

olmes, ighout eacher,

d, that mpany and for onaries d.

se, that es and draft a condinvener, to place

ev. G. to the to-day.

closed

THE CONSTITUTION

OF THE SYNOD OF THE DIOCESE OF ATHABASCA.

- 1. This Synod shall consist of the bishop of the diocese; of the clergy of the same licensed to the cure of souls, or holding office in any college or school under the jurisdiction of the Bishop, and not under Ecclesiastical Censure; and of Lay Delegates as hereinafter provided.
- 2. Each mission shall be entitled to send one Lay Delegate; but two Delegates may be sent if the number of registered communicants be over twenty.
- 3. The Lay Delegates shall be male communicants. They shall be elected at a public meeting of the members of the church, or mission, which they represent, held within six months of the meeting of Synod, or where such meeting is in the judgment of the Bishop, from the circumstances of the mission, impossible or not advisable, they shall be nominated by the Incumbent of said mission.
- 4. Lay substitutes, residents of the place where the Synod meets, may be be appointed by the Incumbent of any mission, or, in case of his absence, by the Bishop, where, on account of distance, or other valid reason, the lay delegate, or delegates, cannot attend.
- 5. The Synod shall meet at such time and place as the Bishop may think advisable; who shall also adjourn the Synod as he shall see fit.
- 6. A quorum of the Synod shall consist of three clergy and two lay delegates.
- 7. No resolution of the Synod shall pass into a law without the concurrence of the Bishop, and a majority of the clergy and laity present. The vote of the clergy and laity shall be taken collectively unless a vote by orders is demanded by any member of the Synod before the question is put from the chair, when a majority of each order will be necessary to affirm the resolution.