Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The question is on motion No. 7. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

• (1250)

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the said motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: This division will stand deferred, along with the division on motion No. 6.

Hon. Donald S. Macdonald (Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources) moved:

That Bill C-236 to provide a means to conserve the supplies of petroleum products within Canadaduring periods of national emergency caused by shortages or market distrubances affecting the national security and welfare and the economic stability of Canada, and to amend the National Energy Board Act, be amended by striking out subclauses (4), (5) and (6) on pages 26 and 27 thereof and substituting therefor the following:

"(4) A notice of motion to adopt an order made under subsection (3) shall be laid upon the table of each House of Parliament by or on behalf of the Minister for the Crown within seven days after the order is made or, if Parliament is not then sitting, within the first seven days next thereafter that Parliament is sitting.

(5) Subsections 11(3) (4) (8) (9) and (10) apply mutatis mutandis to an order made under subsection (3)"

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Motion agreed to.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The House will now revert to the deferred divisions on motions Nos. 6 and 7. Call in the members.

The House divided on motion No. 6 (Mr. Baldwin) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 72)

YEAS

Messrs.

Alexander Arrol Baldwin
Alkenbrack Atkey Balfour
Andre Baker Bawden

Division Messrs

Beattie (Hamilton Mountain) Rell Blenkarn Boisvert Carter Clark (Rocky Mountain) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Cossitt Danforth Darling Dick Diefenbaker Dionne Ellis Epp Fairweather Frank Fraser Hales Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hargrave

Hellyer

Firth

Fleming

Higson Hollands Holmes Horner (Crowfoot) Horner (Battleford-Kindersley) Howie Jarvis Jelinek Kempling Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lambert (Bellechasse) Laprise Latulippe Lawrence Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacDonald (Miss) (Kingston and the Islands) MacKay MacLean Madill

Marshall McCain McGrath McKenzie McKinley Muir Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Neil (Moose Jaw) Nielsen Oherle O'Sullivan Paproski Patterson Reilly Reynolds Schellenberger Schumacher Stanfield Stevens Stewart (Marquette) Tétrault Thomas (Moncton) Whittaker Woolliams-77.

NAYS

Messrs.

Allmand Foster Andras Fox Barnett Gauthier Basford (Ottawa-Vanier) Béchard Gendron Bégin (Miss) Gilbert Benjamin Gillespie Blackburn Gleave Blais Gover Blaker Gray Blouin Guay Boulanger (St. Boniface) Breau Guay (Lévis) Caccia Haidasz Cafik Harding Campbell Harney Caron Herbert Chrétien Isabelle Clermont Jamieson Comtois Jerome Corbin Knight Corriveau Knowles Cullen (Winnipeg Cyr North Centre) De Bané Lajoie Demers Lalonde Douglas Langlois Drury Laniel Dubé Leblanc Dupont (Laurier) Dupras LeBlanc Duquet (Westmorland-Ethier Kent) Faulkner Lefebyre

Leggatt

Lewis L'Heureux Loiselle Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacGuigan MacInnis (Mrs.) (Vancouver Kingsway) Mackasev Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Mather McRae Morin (Mrs.) Munro (Hamilton East) Neale (Vancouver East) Nelson Nesdolv Nystrom

Olaussen
Ouellet
Pelletier
(Hochelaga)
Penner
Peters
Portelance
Poulin