This bill has received considerable debate in committee, but very little in the House. Although the minister complains about the debate it has received in the House, I thought the debate in the committee was a good one and had purpose behind it. I suggest the motions we have put forward are reasonable and practical and should be accepted by the government if it is at all concerned about increasing farm incomes above the poverty level. These motions give real consideration to the problem of increased cost of production and I see no reason why they should not be accepted.

We all know that the three agricultural ministers of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba have requested a meeting with the federal minister to discuss the general situation confronting agriculture. We know that a reasonable attempt is being made to try to find a solution. If we are to be reasonable in this House of Commons the least the minister can do is allow this discussion to take place. Surely there could be nothing wrong with adjourning the debate at this point in order to allow this kind of representation to be made, as a result of which we could divide the bill into two parts, pay out this money to the farmers and at the same time give consideration to using as a base net income rather than gross income. If this were done I think everything would be perfectly all right.

Therefore, Mr. Speaker, I move, seconded by the hon. member for Broadview (Mr. Gilbert):

That the debate on the report stage motions Nos. 1 and 2, Bill C-244, be now adjourned.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Aiken

Bell

Baldwin

Beaudoin

Benjamin

Broadbent

Brewin

Burton

Cadieu

Carter

Comeau

Code

Alexander

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Skoberg) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS Messrs: Crouse Danforth Dinsdale Dionne Downey Forrestall Fortin Gauthier Gilbert Gleave Godin Gundlock Hales

Division

Messrs:

Harding Harkness Horner Howard (Skeena) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Lambert (Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West) Latulippe Lewis Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacKav MacLean Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McIntosh McKinley McQuaid Marshall Mather Matte Mazankowski

Allmand Anderson Andras Badanai Basford Béchard Benson Blair Blouin Borrie Boulanger Breau Buchanan Clermont Cobbe Comtots Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cullen Danson Davis Deakon De Bané Drury Dubé Dupras Duquet Forest Forget Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Goyer Greene Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Haidasz Hogarth Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary)

Monteith Muir Murta Nesbitt Nielsen Noble Nystrom Orlikow Panroski Peddle Peters Ricard Ritchie Rose Rowland Rvan Saltsman Scott Simpson Skoberg Skoreyko Southam Stanfield Tétrault Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Woolliams-77.

NAYS Messrs

Hymmen Isabelle Jerome Laing (Vancouver South) Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Laniel La Salle Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebvre Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Loiselle MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasev McNulty Mahoney Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Morison Noël O'Connell Osler Otto Pelletier Penner Pepin Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Reid Richardson Roberts Robinson Rochon