## BILL.

An Act to divide the County of Saguenay into separate Municipalities.

WHEREAS it is necessary from the great distance existing between Preamble. the different settlements and the difficulty of communication in the County of Suguenay, to divide the same into two separate Municipalities.

Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent, &c.:

- shall be and is hereby divided into two separate Municipalities, for the purposes of the Lower Canada Consolidated Municipalities, for the purposes of the Lower Canada Consolidated Municipalities, and there shall be no other local Municipalities in the said County; the first Municipality divison shall be called the Municipality of Tadousac, and shall comprise of Tadousac. 10 and include the Townships of Saguenay, Albert, and Tadousac, and any other Township that may be surveyed to the westward of Tadousac, or any settlements west of the said Township that may exist before a survey takes place,—and shall have its chef lieu in the village of Tadousac, in the Township of Tadousac: and the second division shall be Municipality 15 called the Municipality of Escoumains, and shall comprise and include of Escouter Townships of Bergeronnes, Escoumains, and Iberville, and the Seignory of Mille-Vaches, or any other settlement that may take place east of the Seignory of Mille-Vaches, as far as Outard Point before a survey takes place, and shall have its chef lieu at Escoumains 20 Village, in the Township of Escoumains."
- 2. The Council of each of the said Municipalities shall consist of Councils, how seven members elected in the manner prescribed in the said Act, with composed. respect to the members of local councils, by the inhabitants of the municipality, being owners, occupants or tenants of real property therein, 25 and shall be subject to the provisions of the said Act, with respect to local councils, except where it is herein otherwise provided.
- 3. The said Councils and Municipalities shall each be presided wardens over by an officer elected as the Mayors of Local Municipalities are under the said Act, but who shall have the title of Warden, with such 30 of the powers of a Warden as may be consistent with this Act, and each Warden shall act as a County Delegate, and no other Delegate shall be appointed from the Municipality.
- 4. Each of the said Municipalities and Councils shall have all the powers of the powers and duties of, and shall be held to be a local municipality and Councils.

  35 council under the said Act, and shall also have the powers and duties of a county municipality and council under the same, except those which relate to the construction or maintenance of a court-house and gaol, or of a Registry office, or to any contribution for the same, as to which they shall be dealt with as local municipalities,—and except also,

  40 as to any yearly allowance out of public moneys in respect of a county