Scotia and New Brunswick be each divided into seven electoral districts, and the Province of Prince Edward Island into two electoral districts for election to this Chamber; and that for the present, and until the four Western Provinces have been given increased representation in this Chamber, that Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta be each one divided into three electoral districts, and that the Province of British Columbia be divided into two electoral districts, all for the election of candidates for representation in the Senate.

In defining the said electoral districts, due regard being had, not only to approximately equalizing the population in each district, but to convenience, local interests and county boundaries.

2. That immediately after the said electoral districts shall have been defined and agreed upon, a member of the existing Senate shall be allotted to each of the said districts, having due regard, as far as practicable, to residence, local interests or other reasons.

3. That as vacancies hereafter arise in the representation of the said electoral districts, the vacancy shall be filled by the electors of that district entitled to vote for members of the House of Commons.

4. That in order to diminish the expenses attending elections over wide areas, and to secure a larger and freer expression of independent opinion, the system of compulsory voting shall apply to all elections of senators; every voter being required to exercise his right to the franchise, and by ballot, under a penalty of ten dollars, to be collected by the returning officer and applied in reduction of election expenses. Provided that any elector may be excused from voting on producing a medical certificate that his state of health did not admit of his attendance at the polls, or a certificate from the local judge that important business or other reasonable excuse prevented his exercising the franchise.

5. That the remaining eight senators in each of the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec; the remaining three senators in Nova Scotia and in New Brunswick, and the two remaining senators in Prince Edward Island, and the remaining senator in each of the Provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia, who had not been allotted to any constituency, shall be classed as senators for the particular province at large, and as a vacancy arises in that class, it shall be filled by appointment, as at present, by the Crown.

6. That the term for which a senator may be elected or appointed, be limited to eight years.

7. That in order to more nearly equalize the standing of political parties in the Senate, on the occasion of a change in the Government, the principle laid down in Sections 26 and 27 of the British North America Act shall apply; that is to say, the incoming administration may appoint an additional number of senators, not exceeding nine if in the opinion of the Governor General, acting independently of the Privy Council, the request is a reasonable one, but not more than one of the senators to be appointed, shall be taken from any one province; and that no more appointments of senators shall be made for that province until a second vacancy has arisen; thus reverting to the original number of senators allotted to the said province.

8. That the senators representing the several different provinces be requested to meet and suggest the best mode of dividing the province into senate electoral districts and also the name of the senator who will represent each particular district.

9. That the House of Commons be asked to concur in the proposed changes in the constitution of the Senate.

10. That the Senate and House of Commons adopt a joint address to His Gracious Majesty the King praying that the British North America Act, and the Acts under which British Columbia and Prince Edward Island entered the Union, be so amended as to conform to the foregoing resolutions.