FINAL ACT OF THE UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE ON TRADE AND EMPLOYMENT

The Economic and Social Council of the United Nations, by a resolution dated February 18, 1946, resolved to call an International Conference on Trade and Employment for the purpose of promoting the expansion of the production, exchange and consumption of goods.

The Conference, which met at Havana on November 21, 1947, and ended on March 24, 1948, drew up the Havana Charter for an International Trade Organization to be submitted to the Governments represented. The text of the Charter in the English and French languages is annexed hereto and is hereby authenticated. The authentic text of the Charter in the Chinese, Russian and Spanish languages will be established by the Interim Commission of the International Trade Organization, in accordance with the procedure approved by the Conference.

There are also annexed to this Final Act a resolution of the Conference establishing an Interim Commission of the International Trade Organization and the other resolutions of the Conference.

This Final Act and the documents annexed shall be deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations, who will send certified copies to each of the Governments represented at the Conference.

In WITNESS WHEREOF, the duly authorized representatives of their Governments have subscribed their names below.

Done at Havana, this twenty-fourth day of March, one thousand nine hundred and forty-eight, in a single copy in the Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish languages.

For Afghanistan:
A. Hosayn Azız

For Australia:
H. C. COOMBS

For the Republic of Austria: MATSCH

For the Kingdom of Belgium: M. SUETENS

For Bolivia: G. Gutierrez V. M.

For Brazil:
A. DE VILHENA FERREIRA BRAGA

For the Union of Burma: M. Myat Tun

For Canada: L. D. Wilgren For Ceylon:
B. Mahadeva

For Chile: W. Müller F. García Oldini

For China: WUNSZ KING

For Colombia: F. LEQUERICA VELEZ

For Costa Rica: V. M. DE LA GUARDIA

For Cuba: Gustavo Gutiérrez

For Czechoslovakia: Z. Augenthaler

For Denmark: E. WAFRUM