Acknowledgement

The author would like to acknowledge the comments provided in the preparation of this paper from a wide number of individuals within Policy Staff, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) and other government departments. From DFAIT, a special thanks to Keith Christie who not only provided detailed comments on a number of drafts but offered guidance from the paper's inception. Comments have also been provided by Peter Tanner, Mike Robertson, Tina Milanetti, Kate Lannan, Victor Bradley, Allan Hertz, Max Reid, Nigel Godfrey, David Devine, Gilles Gauthier (Geneva), Andrew Cameron (Paris), Don Strange and Judith Bradt (Washington) and William Coderre (Brussels).

From other Departments special thanks to: Susan Bincoletto, Josée Berthiaume and Dean Corno of the International Economic Relations Division of the Department of Finance; Vic Duy, Brian Botting and Brenda Dunbar of the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO); Art Kaell of the Bureau of Competition Policy; Slawek Skorupinski and Christopher Wilkie from Industry Canada; and Sami Sourani, Manager of the Economic and Statistical Analysis Group, Public Works and Government Services.

Policy Staff Paper Page 2