

ANNO VICESIMO-TERTIO VICTORIÆ REGINÆ.

CAP. I.

An Act to amend the Act respecting the Representation of the People in the Legislative Assembly.

[Assented to 23rd April, 1860.]

THEREAS the Cities of Quebec and Montreal are each Preamble. represented by three Members, and the City of Toronto by two Members, in the Legislative Assembly, and it is expedient that the said Cities respectively should be divided into Electoral Divisions each of which may be represented by one Member, as the other Electoral Divisions of the Province now. are : Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts as follows:

1. The City of Quebec shall be divided into three Electoral Quebec divi-Divisions, to be called respectively:

1. Quebec West, which shall consist of St. Peter's Ward, Quebec West. Champlain Ward, and so much of Montcalm Ward as lies south of the centre of Artillery street, and its prolongation parallel to La Grande Allée, to the City limits; with so much of the Banlieue as lies South of the said line prolonged to the Western Line of the said Banlieue;

2. Quebec Centre, which shall consist of Palace Ward, St. Quebec Louis Ward, St. John's Ward and so much of Montcalm Ward Centre. and of the Banlieue as will not be within Quebec West or Quebec East;

1 *

3. Quebec East, which shall consist of St. Roch's Ward and Quebec East. Jacques Cartier Ward, and that portion of the Banlieue to the North of a line prolonged towards the south-west from the southern

ded into three electoral divi-