1840-The Act of Union.

1842—Establishment of the Cobourg Theological Institution.
Opening of King's College. Toronto, for lectures.
Organization of the Church Society.

1849 Secularization of King's College.

1851-The first Diocesan Synod held, with lay representatives.

1852-Oy oning of Trinity College.

1854—Secularization of the Clergy Reserves.

1857-Erection of the Diocese of Huron and consecration of Bishop Cronyn.

1861—Formation of the Ecclesiastical Province of Canada (Quebec, Montreal, Contario, Toronto, and Huron). Nova Scotia, Fredericton and the subdivisions of Toronto and Ontario were added later. Erection of the Diocese of Ontario.

1862-Consecration of Dr. Lewis as Bishop of Ontario.

1867—Consecration of Dr. Bethune as Bishop of Niagara and Coadjutor

to the Bishop of Toronto.

The first Lambeth Conference held. It was suggested by the Provincial Synod of Canada, the resolution having been moved by the Bishop of Ontario.

Confederation of the Provinces of the Dominion. Death of Bishop Strachan, All Saints' Day.

1872-Erection of the Diocese of Algoma.

1873—Consecration of Archdeacon Fauquier, of Woodstock, as Bishop of Algoma.

1875-Erection of the Diocese of Niagara and consecration of Dr. Fuller.

1877-Foundation of Wycliffe College.

1879—Death of Bishop Bethune and consecration of Dr. Sweatman.

1889—Celebration of the Jubilee of the Diocese of Toronto and promulgation of the Cathedral establishment.

1893—Formation of the General Synod at Trinity College. Archbishop Machray, of Rupert's Land, Primate of All Canada, and Archbishop Lewis, of Ontario, Primate of Canada.

1902—Formation of the M.S.C.C.

1907—The Bishop of Toronto (Dr. Sweatman) becomes Primate of All Canada.

1908-Dr. Reeve, Assistant Bishop.

1909—Death of the Primate and conseration of the Venerable James Fielding Sweeny, D.D., Archdeacon of York, as Bishop of the Diocese.

1912—The corner stone of St. Alban's Cathedral laid by H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, Governor-General of Canada.

1912—Constitution of the Ecclesiastical Province of Ontario, with the Archbishop of Ottawa as Metropolitan.

1914—Celebration of the seventy-fifth anniversary of the Diocese of Toronto by services in the parish churches on Sunday, November 8th.