APPENDIX 2

The UN System in Brief

The six principal organs of the United Nations are the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, International Court of Justice, and the Secretariat. Below are some quick facts about the UN system.

Administration

Headquarters: New York, with key organizations and agencies in Geneva, Vienna, Nairobi, the Hague and Montreal
Members: 191 (Canada was one of the founding states)
Head: Secretary-General Kofi Annan
Secretary-General's term of office: Re-elected Jan.1, 2002, for a five-year term

General Assembly

Official languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish Session: Begins each year in mid-September and continues until mid-December Main Committees: Disarmament and International Security; Economic and Financial; Social, Humanitarian and Cultural; Special Political and Decolonization; Administrative and Budgetary; and Legal.

Security Council

Total members: 15

Permanent members: 5, China, Russia, France, the United Kingdom and the United States

Other members: 10, elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms Canadian participation: Six terms — 1948-49, 1958-59, 1967-68, 1977-78, 1989-90, and 1999-2000

Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

Members: 54, elected by the General Assembly for three-year terms *Responsibilities*: Specialized agencies in areas including world trade, development, health, industrialization, natural resources, human rights, population, social welfare, crime prevention and science and technology *Canadian participation*: Canada is currently serving a term on ECOSOC