Part B – Department Organization

Prosperity, security and the projection abroad of Canadian values are the central themes of Canada's foreign policy.

This translates into a multifaceted role for the Department: trade in an increasingly competitive world; the protection of our security within a stable global framework; and the promotion of the rights, interests and values that Canadians hold dear. All are interrelated objectives that underlie every aspect of our work — on the international front lines and here at home.

In this section we will look at how the Department's structure helps us reach those objectives.

Parliamentarians

At the top of the organizational structure are the elected members of parliament who have been given the portfolios for our Department.

The act allows for up to three ministers: the Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Minister for International Trade and the Minister for International Cooperation.

In addition, there may be two Secretaries of State who assist the Minister of Foreign Affairs in specific areas within this portfolio.

Ministerial portfolios extend beyond the Department. The Minister of Foreign Affairs, for instance, is also responsible for the International Joint Commission and the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development. The Minister for International Trade is responsible for the Export Development Corporation (EDC) and the NAFTA Secretariat.

The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) falls under the portfolio of the Minister for International Cooperation.