

## DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

## communiqué

No: 50

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
JUNE 21, 1979

## TEN MAYORS TO VISIT EUROPE, JUNE 22-30

The mayor of a community in each of Canada's ten provinces will leave Ottawa June 22 for an eight-day study tour, which will include NATO Headquarters, the European Communities Commission and the Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers in Europe (in Brussels), the Council of Europe in Strasbourg and the Canadian Armed Forces base in Lahr.

The visit is sponsored and organized by the Department of External Affairs, the NATO Information Service, the Delegation of the Commission of the European Communities in Ottawa and the Department of National Defence.

The visit will enable leaders of Canadian communities to become more familiar with various aspects of Canadian foreign policy. In previous years, small groups of parliamentarians, high school teachers and journalists from Canadian weeklies have had a similar opportunity under this visits programme to familiarize themselves with these questions and pass on their knowledge to a wider Canadian audience. This is the first time mayors have been included in the programme.

The mayors, who were named by their Provincial Municipal Associations, will first travel to Ottawa for advance briefings with government officials. The group is composed of: Mayor Ross Alger, Calgary, Alberta; Mayor E. J. Brady, Carlyle, Saskatchewan; Mayor Daniel P. Brownlow, Dartmouth, N. S.; Mayor George F. Ferguson, Abbotsford, B.C.; Mayor Kelvin G. Fowler, Conception Bay South, Nfld.; Maire Louis J. Lavoie, Edmunston, N.B.; Mayor Hazel McCallion, Mississauga, Ontario; Mayor Frank Moran, Charlottetown, P.E.I.; Deputy Mayor William Norrie, Winnipeg, Manitoba; and Maire Jean Pelletier, Quebec City, P.Q.