and Councillors are all elected annually by the rate-payers.

Above these stands the County Municipality, consisting of the Reeves and Deputy Reeves of the townships, villages, and towns within the county. One of these, who presides, is called the "Warden" of the county.

Alongside the county stands the city, with a population of over 15.000, governed by a Municipal body of a Mayor, and three Aldermen for every ward, with powers and functions akin to those of counties and towns combined.

The Councils have power to levy rates, create debts, and promote agriculture, trade, manufactures, and railways, and powers relating to drainage, roads, paupers, cemeteries, public schools, free libraries, markets, fire companies, preservation of the peace, and for all other objects falling within the legitimate scope of local Municipal requirements.

The exemptions from taxation comprise all Government and public property, places