A Bill " to appropriate a part of the Public Revenue for the services therein " mentioned," being brought in by the Committee appointed for that purpose, was read a first and second time.

Ordered that the said Bill be now committed.

The House, according to order, resolved itself into a Committee of the whole House, on the said Bill.

Mr. Speaker left the Chair.

Mr. Agnew took the Chair of the Committee.

Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair.

Mr. Agnew, from the Committee, reported, that the Committee had gone into consideration of the Bill to them referred, and had agreed to the same.

Ordered that the report be accepted, and the Bill, as reported, be engrossed.

Read, as engrossed, a Bill "to appropriate a part of the Public Revenue for " the services therein mentioned."

Ordered that the Bill pass; and that Mr. Smith and Mr. Porter carry the same to the Council, and desire their concurrence thereto.

A Message from the Council.

Mr. Robinson delivered the Message, as follows:---

" Mr. Speaker,

"The Council have concurred in passing a Bill, " to appropriate a part " of the Public Revenue for the services therein mentioned."

Mr. Robinson then withdrew.

The House took into consideration the Message communicated by His Ex-

cellency the Lieutenant-Governor this day---,

On which, Mr. Humbert moved, that it be resolved as the opinion of this House, that the system adopted by His Majesty's Government in this Province for the payment of one shilling per ton on Pine Timber, is not necessarily within the consideration of the House of Assembly, and that any resolve of this House on the said system may be deemed an improper interference with His Majesty's Prerogative: 

"Whereupon resolved, after mature deliberation had, that in consequence " of the Message from His Excellency the Lieutenant-Governor, on the subject " of the resolve of the 17th of March, relative to the proceedings of His Ma-" jesty's Government, in the disposal of Pine Timber in this Province, that the

" said resolve be not retained on the Journals of this House."

Upon which the House divided as follows:--

YEAS.

Mr. HUMBERT,

Mr. MILES,

Mr. WILMOT,

Mr. ALLEN.

NAYS.

Mr. EASTERBROOKS, Mr. PAGAN,

Mr. PORTER,

Mr. SMITH,

Mr. CHAPMAN, Mr. JOHNSTON, Mr. WARD,

Mr. PETERS, Mr. CALVERLEY,

Mr. SCOVIL,

Mr. AGNEW;

Mr. WETMORE,

Mr. BRITTAIN, Mr. YEAMANS, Mr. MKAY,

NAYS.