January 31, 1991

NAYS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Meighen Murray Neiman Nurgitz Oliver Olson Ottenheimer Petten Phillips Poitras Riel Robertson Roblin Ross Rossiter Simard Spivak Stanbury Stollery Sylvain Teed Tremblay Twinn van Roggen Waters—73

ABSTENTIONS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Corbin	Perreault
Kelly	Stewart
Lefebvre	Thériault
MacEachen	Turner—8

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: I declare the motion in amendment negatived.

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: It was moved by the Honourable Senator Haidasz, P.C., seconded by the Honourable Senator Corbin:

That Clause 1 of Bill C-43 at page 2 thereof be amended by striking lines 1 through 16 thereof and at page 1 thereof be amended by striking lines 4 through 24 thereof and substituting therefor:

"1. Section 287 of the Criminal Code is repealed and Section 223 of the Criminal Code is amended at subsection (2) thereof by deleting from the last line thereof the final words 'after becoming a human being'."

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: Will those honourable senators in favour of the motion in amendment please say "yea"?

Senator Haidasz: Yea.

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: Will those honourable senators who are against the motion in amendment please say "nay"?

Some Hon. Senators: Nay.

The Hon. the Acting Speaker: In my opinion, the "nays" have it.

And two honourable senators having risen.

Motion in amendment negatived on the following division: [The Hon. the Speaker.]

YEAS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Haidasz

(Cape Breton)-2

Macdonald

NAYS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Atkins Austin Balfour Barootes Beaudoin Beaulieu Berntson Bolduc Buchanan Buckwold Carney Castonguay Chaput-Rolland Cochrane Cogger Comeau Cools Davev David DeWare Di Nino Doody Doyle Everett Fairbairn Forrestall Frith Gigantès Grafstein Grimard Hastings Hays Hébert Johnson Kelleher Kenny Keon

Kinsella Kirby Lavoie-Roux LeBlanc (Beauséjour) Lewis Lucier Lynch-Staunton McDonald (Halifax) Marchand Marsden Meighen Murray Neiman Nurgitz Oliver Olson Ottenheimer Petten Phillips Poitras Riel Robertson Roblin Ross Rossiter Simard Spivak Stanbury Stollery Sylvain Teed Tremblay Twinn van Roggen Waters-72

ABSTENTIONS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Adams Bosa Corbin Graham Kelly Lefebvre MacEachen Molgat Perreault Stewart Thériault Turner—12