MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

House of Commons, Room 430, Wednesday, June 9, 1954.

The Special Committee on Veterans Affairs met at 12.00 o'clock noon. The Chairman, Mr. Walter A. Tucker, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Balcom, Bennett (Grey North), Brooks, Cardin, Cavers, Croll, Dinsdale, Enfield, Forgie, Gauthier (Portneuf), Gillis, Goode, Green, Hanna, Harkness, Henderson, James, Herridge, Jones, Jutras, MacDougall, Nesbitt, Pearkes, Philpott, Quelch, Roberge, Thomas, Tucker, Weaver, and Weselak.

In attendance: Mr. E. L. M. Burns, Deputy Minister, and Mr. E. J. Rider, Research Adviser, of the Department of Veterans Affairs Also, Mr D. M. Thompson, Chief Welfare Officer, Canadian Legion, B.E.S.L.

The Chairman informed the Committee that after conferring with all but one of the members of the subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, he had prepared a Draft Report which he was now submitting for the Committee's consideration.

It was agreed that the Committee should first deal with the proposed resolution of Mr. Goode of June 7, 1954, reading as follows: ,

That this Committee recommend that the Government give consideration to introducing legislation which will give effect to the representations submitted to the Cabinet in November, 1943 by the Canadian Legion, that the rates of allowance and the maximum total income under the War Veterans' Allowance Act be increased.

After some discussion thereon, the said proposed resolution, moved by Mr. Goode, was ruled out of order.

Whereupon, Mr. Brooks moved:

That this Committee submit a Report to the House requesting that the terms of reference of the Committee be enlarged to enable it to consider the War Veterans' Allowance Act and make recommendations in respect thereof, at this session of Parliament.

And a debate arising on the proposed motion of Mr. Brooks, at 1.15 o'clock p.m., the said debate still continuing, the Committee adjourned to meet again at 3.30 o'clock p.m., Thursday, June 10.

The Senate, Room 368, THURSDAY, June 10, 1954.

The Committee met at 3.30 o'clock p.m. The Chairman, Mr. Walter A. Tucker, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Balcom, Bennett (Grey North), Brooks, Cardin, Cavers, Croll, Dinsdale, Enfield, Forgie, Gauthier (Portneuf), Gillis, Green, Hanna, Harkness, Henderson, James, Herridge, Jones, Jutras, MacDougall, Nesbitt, Pearkes, Philpott, Quelch, Roberge, Thomas, Tucker, Weaver, and Weselak.