Membership in the United Nations has increased Canada's responsibilities outside its own borders, and Canada has been represented on various organs of the United Nations since its formation in San Francisco in 1945. After Canada's election, for a term, to the Security Council in September 1957, a Permanent Canadian Delegation was established in New York in January 1948, and later in the year a small office was also opened in Geneva, the European headquarters of the organization. In view of the increasing responsibilities which Canada has assumed in the organization since that time (e.g., Palestine Truce Supervision, UN Military Observer Group in India and Pakistan, United Nations Emergency Force, United Nations Operation in the Congo, and other UN undertakings), both these offices, now called permanent missions, have been expanded.

Canada was one of the founding members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in 1949, and has played an active role in the Organization. In May 1952, on the establishment of a North Atlantic Council, a Canadian Permanent Delegation was set up in Paris to represent Canada's NATO interests. When, in October 1967, the headquarters of the NAC moved to Brussels the Canadian Delegation moved with it. Canada maintains in Paris a Permanent Delegation to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. In addition to representing Canada on these permanent international bodies and their various committees, officials of the Department of External Affairs have been members of Canadian delegations at a large number of international conferences in recent years.

Today, Canada conducts its external relations with some 106 countries through the following channels:

- (a) Embassies in: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroun, Chile, Colombia, Congo (Kinshasa), Costa Rica, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Ethiopia, Finland, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Arab Republic, the United States of America, Venezuela, Yugoslavia;
- (b) Non-Resident Ambassadors in: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bolivia, Bulgaria,
 Burma, the Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Dahomey,
 the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Gabon, Guatemala, Guinea,
 Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jordan, Kuwait,
 Libya, Luxembourg, Malagasy, Mauritania, Morocco, Nepal, Nicaragua,
 Niger, Panama, Paraguay, the Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Somalia,
 Sudan, Syria, Togo, Upper Volta, Uruguay;
- (c) <u>High Commissioners' Offices in</u>: Australia, Britain, Ceylon, Cyprus, Ghana, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Trinidad and Tobago, United Republic of Tanzania;
- (d) Non-Resident High Commissioners' in: Barbados, Botswana, Gambia, Lesotho, Malta, Republic of Zambia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Uganda;
- (e) Non-Resident Commissioner in: West Indies (Associated States);