THIE

FREEMASONS' JOURNAL,

Devoted to the interests of Freemasons in Canada,

Publisher and Proprietor:—BRO. THOMAS PARSONS.

Address—Box 8084 Montreal.

Published on the 15th of a cach month,

Price \$1.00 per Annum.

Vor., I.

MONTREAL, MAY 15, 1870.

No. 5

REPORT OF COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN CORRESPONDENCE OF THE GRAND LODGE OF MAINE.

We have received the above report, in which the question of the legality of the G. L. of Quebec receives the most exhaustive and able discussion.

After relating the history of its formation, including the preamble and resolutions unanimously adopted, and the proper constitution of the new G. L., it proceeds to the question at issue in the following words:—

The right of the lodges in Quebec to form a Grand Lodge without the consent of the Grand Lodge of Canada—whether a majority of the lodges were represented in the Convention, or if not whether a Grand Lodge formed by less than a majority of the lodges is entitled to recognition in any event—whether the proceedings were regular—all these questions are involved. Canada denies them all: Quebec maintains them. It is not a pleasant task to examine and determine the merits in a Masonic contest, especially when our relations with both sides are of the most fraternal character. But though unpleasant, the task must be performed; for the voice of the other Grand Lodges is the only tribunal which can determine the matter. After as thorough and careful investigation, as we can possibly make, we submit the following views.

For a number of years previous to the formation of the Grand Lodge of Canada, and until July 1, 1867, the territory over which that Grand Lodge exercised jurisdiction, formed and constituted but one Province, called "The Province of Canada," and having but one Legislature or Parliament; but by the Proclamation of the "British North American Act," on July 1, 1867, the "Province of Canada," as then existing, was "severed" into two separate and distinct Provinces, called the "Province of Quebec," and the "Province of Ontario." These Provinces of Quebec and Ontario, thus formed, were also joined (together with the Provinces of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick,) into one federal union which was declared "to form and be" "The Dominion of Canada;" so that since the 1st July, 1867, the two Provinces of Ontario and Quebec have been and are as distinct and separate as the Provinces of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, or as are any two States of the American Union, while the Legislature of