The Lieutenant Governor, by an Order in Council dated the 27th of July last, was pleased to appoint the following gentlemen, School Commis-

City of Montreal:-The Revd. Donald Harvey McVicar to be a member of the Protestant Board for said City, and Louis Belanger, Esq., Advocate,

to be a member of the Catholic Board for said City.

City of Québec:—The Revd. James Neville, to be a member of the Catholic Board for said City, and Robert Smith, Esq., to be a member of the Protestant Board for said City.

The Lieutenant-Governor, by an Order in Council dated 31st ult., was

pleased to appoint the following:

SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS.

Ouiatchouan, County of Chicoutimi:-Messrs. Jean-Baptiste Parent and Joseph Villeneuve to replace themselves.

Miguasha, County of Gaspé: -Mr. Alexander Sabillois to replace Mr. Archibald McEwen.

Valcartier, County of Quebec :- Messrs. William Goodfellow, Michael Maher, John Hopper Ireland, James Burns and Charles Fitzpatrick.

Ste Flavie, County of Rimouski:-Messrs. Pierre Giroux and Jean-Baptiste Saucier to replace Messrs. Jérôme Gagnon and Philippe Plante. St. Paul d'Abbotsford, County of Rouville: Mr. François Brunelle to replace M. Olivier Patenaude.

Wolfestown, County of Wolfe:-The Revd. Mr. Napoléon Francœur and Mr. Francis Gormly to replace themselves.

St. François, County of Yamaska: - The Revd. Mr. Jules Paradis to replace Mr. Jean-Baptiste Maher, and Mr. Edouard Despins to replace himself.

SCHOOL TRUSTEE.

Village of St. Jean-Baptiste, County of Hochelaga: — Mr. Joseph Clarihue, Esq., to replace John Bridgeman, Esq.

ERECTIONS, ANNEXATIONS, SEPARATIONS, &c., OF SCHOOL MUNICIPALITIES.

The Lieutenant-Governor, by an Order in Council dated the 19th of July last was pleased

1. To unite Poste des Forges de St. Maurice and Fief de St. Maurice into one School Municipality under the name of Fief de St. Maurice;

2. To divide into two separate School Municipalities,—with the same limits as for Municipal purposes,—those of Buckland and Mailloux in the County of Bellechasse;

3. To annex, for school purposes, lot 28 of the second Range of East Chester in the County of Arthabaska to the Municipality of St. Norbert

in the same County;
4. To annex, for School purposes, to the Municipality of McNider in the County of Rimouski, that portion of the township of Matane, in the same county, which extends from the land of Vilbon Gosselin, Esq, exclusively, running south as far as River Fortigon, thence following the south-west bank of said river to the line which separates the said Township of Matane from the Municipality of McNider, -- comprising lots Nos. 1, 2, and 3 of the Second Range, which heretofore made part of the School Municipality of said township of Matane, as at present existing;—

5. To erect into a School Municipality the Parish of St. Hippolyte, in the County and District of Terrebonne, with the limits made known by

Proclamation of the Lieutenant-Governor, of date the sixteenth of April

one thousand eight hundred and seventy;
6. To detach from the Municipality of Kamouraska the land called Pointe-Seche, and annex it to the Municipality of St. André in the same

County;

7. To fix for school purposes, the following limits, between the Municipalities of St. Roch and Ste. Louise, in the County of l'Islet,—namely, all the lands of the proprietors who have their domicile south of the Rail-Road, in the second Range, from the road to St. Roch Church as far as the Seigniorial line, shall form part of the Municipality of Ste. Louise as well as that portion of their lands lying North of said line. All the lands of the proprietors who have their domicile North of said line in the same range shall form part of the Municipality of St. Roch, as well as that portion of their lands lying South.

The Lieutenant-Governor, by an Order in Council dated 31st ult., was pleased, by virtue of the powers conferred on him by Cap. 15, Clause 55, Consolidated Statutes for Lower Canada,

To annex, for School purposes, the North-East part, (commencing at lot 36 and running to the Townships of Denonville) of the Township of Viger, County of Témiscouata, to the School Municipality of St. Epiphane de Viger in the same county.

The Lieutenant-Governor, by an Order in Council dated the 16th November last, was pleased to erect into a School Municipality, under the name of St. Jérôme du Lac St. Jean, the portion of each of the Townships of Caron and Metabetchouan, in the County of Saguenay, bounded as follows, to wit: North by Lac St. Jean; East by Belle-Rivière and

Hébertville, commencing at lot 25, in the 1, 2, 3, and 4 Ranges of the Township of Caron, and at lot 58 in the North and South Ranges(A) of aforesaid Township; West by River Metabetchouan, and South by mountains and uncleared lands, serving as limits to the Fourth Range of the Township of Caron.

(The publication of this Order in Council in last December number of

The Journal of Education to be considered as null and void.)

NOTICE

Quebec, August 6th, 1870.

Notice is hereby given that the Dissentients of St. Joachim, in the County of Two Mountains, having had no school in operation for more than a year, either in their own Municipality or conjointly with other Trustees in a neighbouring Municipality, and that they are not taking any steps to carry out the school law, I shall recommend to the Lieutenant-Governor in Council that the Board of Trustees for the Dissentient Schools of said Municipality shall be declared dissolved, after the elapse of three months from the date of the present notice, in conformity with Sec. 16, Cap. 16, 32 Vic.

P. J. O. CHAUVEAU, (Signed) Minister of Public Instruction.

DIPLOMAS GRANTED BY BOARDS OF EXAMINERS.

QUEBEC (CATHOLIC).

Session of May 3rd, 1870.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DIPLOMA, (F.) 1st Class: — Misses Victorine Bernard, M. Hersélie Catellier, M. Emilie Labrecque, M. Louise Lamothe, M. Zéphirine Pandelette dite Plaisance, and Martha Murphy (E).

2nd Class: — Misses Emilie Blanchet, M. Celina Chamberland, M. Ursule Couture, M. Virginie Gagné dite Belleavance, M. Adeline-Elizabeth Giroux, M. Joséphine-Arthémise Lemieux, Aurélie Morrin, Julie-Hermine Pandelette dite Plaisance, M. Claire-Magdeleine Pelletier, M. Heloïse Rhéaume, M. Josephte Richard, M. Emilie Samson, M. Laure Sévigny, and M. Luce Turgeon M. Luce Turgeon.

N. LACASSE, Secretary.

REALICE

Session of August 2nd, 1870.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DIPLOMA, (F) 1st Class: -Miss Apolline Veilleux. 2nd Class:—Misses Catherine Lemieux, Marie-Eléonore Lebreux, Lucie Lessard, Célina Roy, Clotilde Cloutier, Rachel Gagner, Julie-Virginie Lessard, and Marie-Sara Bilodeau.

J. T. P. PROULX. Secretary.

CHARLEVOIX.

Session of August 2nd, 1870.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DIPLOMA, (F) 1st Class:—Misses Philomène Boulianne, Marie-Louise Claveau, Malvina Gaudreault, and Marie-Ombéline Villeneuve.

2nd Class: - Miss Louise Tremblay.

CHS. BOIVIN, Secretary.

SHERBROOKE.

Session of August 2nd, 1870.

MODEL SCHOOL DIPLOMA, (E) 2nd Class:-Miss Sarah Lacy.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DIPLOMA, (E) 1st Class: - Miss Elizabeth J. Barnard

> S. A. HURD, Secretary.

RICHMOND.

Session of August 2nd, 1870.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DIPLOMA, (E) 1st Class: - Miss Mary Ann Ken-

2nd Class (F) :-Misses Mary B. Cowan, Marie Letourneau, and Alphonsine Pilon.

F. A. BRIEN, Secretary.

WATERLOO AND SWEETSBURGH (PROTESTANT).

Session of August 2nd, 1870.

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DIPLOMA, (E) 1st Class:—Misses Helen K. Brown Emily C. Savage, Julia T. Whitten, Messrs. Benjamin H. Booth, Charles Flanders, and Alfred Jones.

WM. GIBSON, Secretary.