## WILL INTERFERE NEXT TIME.

A Lewiston man was passing through a country district near the city one day when off in a field he saw a boy throwing stones through the glass of a deserted house. The man's first impulse was to shout to him to stop, but then he thought that the boy's father should have taught him better things, and it was not his duty to chastise another man's children for their wickedness. So he went home that night and began to tell the instance at the supper table. His boy, who had been out in the country hunting all day, began to turn colors and finally broke out:

"Well, pa, you needn't be so roundabout. You know it was me, and I guess

the man who owns it knew, for I saw him running after me down the road."

Before that evening was passed, sure enough, the owner of the old house drove up and demanded the pay for the glass.

## Department of Education, Manitoba.

The following is a list of the Inspectoral Divisions of the Province:

The Western Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of Ellice, Birtle, Archie, Miniota, Hamiota, Wallace, Woodworth, Pipestone, Sifton, Arthur. S. E. Lang, B.A., Esq., Virden, Inspector.

The Brandon Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of Blanchard, Saskatchewan, Odanah, Daly, Elton, North Cypress, Whitehead, Cornwallis, Glenwood, Oakland, South Cypress. A. S. Rose, Esq., Brandon, Inspector.

The South-Central Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of Cameron, Whitewater, Riverside, Argyle, Winchester, Brenda, Morton, Turtle Mountain, Louise. H. S. McLean, Esq., Killarney, Inspector.

The North-Central Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of Rosedale, Lansdowne, Langford, Westbourne, North Norfolk, Portage la Prairie, South Norfolk. T. M. Maguire, Esq., Portage la Prairie, Inspector.

The North-Eastern Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of Springfield, Brokenhead, St. Clements, St. Andrews, St. Pauls, Kildonan, Assiniboia, Rosser, Rockwood, Woodlands, St. Laurent, Gimli, Posen, and all the territory North and East of these municipalities. E. E. Best, Esq., 182 Carlton St., Winnipeg, Inspector.

The South-Eastern Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of St. Francois Xavier, Dufferin, Lorne, Pembina, Stanley, Montcalm, Morris, Macdonald, St. Boniface, Ritchot, De Salaberry, Franklin, La Broquerie, Tache, and all the territory East of these municipalities. A. L. Young, Esq., 533 Ross Ave., Winnipeg, and Roger Goulet, Esq., Jr., St. Boniface, Associate Inspectors.

The North-Western Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of Dauphin, Ochre River, Clanwilliam, Harrison, Strathclair, Shoal Lake, Rossburn, Silver Creek, Russell, Shell River, Boulton, and all the territory North of these municipalities. A. W. Hooper, Esq., Dauphin, Inspector.

Mennonite Division, to comprise the following lands:—The municipalities of Rhineland and Hanover. H. H. Ewert, Esq., Gretna, Inspector.