

No. 145

July 11, 1988.

THE COMMONWEALTH COMMITTEE OF FOREIGN MINISTERS

ON SOUTHERN AFRICA SECOND MEETING

TORONTO, AUGUST 2-3, 1988

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Right Honourable Joe Clark, today announced that the next meeting of the Commonwealth Committee of Foreign Ministers on Southern Africa will be held in Toronto on August 2-3, 1988.

The Ministers' Committee was created by the Vancouver Heads of Government Meeting in October, 1987 to provide high level impetus and guidance in furtherance of the Commonwealth objectives on South Africa. It comprises the Foreign Ministers of Australia, Canada, Guyana, India, Nigeria, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and is chaired by Canada. The Committee held its first meeting in Lusaka in February of this year.

The Vancouver conference in October "agreed that the Commonwealth should give high priority to counteracting South African Propaganda and Censorship". The Toronto meeting will devote particular attention to a Canadian strategy paper on these two issues.

Ministers will also review work set in progress at Lusaka to examine the application of sanctions with a view to widening, tightening and intensifying measures against apartheid. This review will cover the changing pattern of South Africa's trade and South Africa's relationship with the international financial system.

- 30 -

anadä

Secretary of State for External Affairs Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures