mbia had

ommenceon, of the stains, and s, towards e railway ch railway

Dominion
Dominion
tion of the
of railway
lowever, 20
e same purNorth-West
quantity of
rant within
eyed to the
contiguous
ent, within
letion of the
r amel enate

r amel enate
ny o'her way
e pre-emptor
so conveyed
Government
am of \$100,or ten years

per centum ay be r.quiralt gement of the the Dominion by the British

ernment after

thas hitherto priate for that to vernment to he Indians on agreement beacts of Land to the Secretary

Legislature of sh North Amon until altered under the Authority of the said Act, it being at the same time understood that the Government of the Dominion shall readily consent to the introduction of Responsible Government when desired by the inhabitants of British Columbia, and it being likewise understood that it is the intention of the Governor of British Columbia, under the authority of the Secretary of State for the Colonies, to amend the existing Constitution of the Legislature by providing that a majority of its members shall be elective.

The Union shall take effect according to the feregoing terms and conditions on such day as Her Majesty by and with the advice of Her Most Honourable Privy Council may appoint (on addresses from the Legislature of the Colony of British Columbia, and of the Houses of Parliament of Canada, in Terms of the 146th action of the "British North America Act, 1867,) and British Columbia may in its addresses specify the Electoral Districts* for which the first election of Members to serve in the House of Commons shall take place.

* Electoral Districts.

DISTRICT OF VICTORIA.—Lake North Saanich, South Saanich, Espuimalt (including Metchosin and Highland Districts), Sook, Salt Spring, and Cow-ichan (including Somenos Quamacnan, Comiakeu, Shawingan, and Chemainis.)

DISTRICT OF NANAIMO.—Nannimo (including Mountain, Cedar, Cranberry and Comox.)

DISTRICT OF NEW WESTMINSTER .- New Westminster city and suburbs, Langley, Chilliwack and Furrard Inlet.

DISTRICT OF YALE - Yale, Hope, Rock Creek, Lytton, Nicola Lake Cache Creek, Kamloops and Okanagan.

DISTRICT OF LILLOOET.—Lillooet, Clinton, 21-Mile House, Canoe Creek and Lake La Pache.

DISTRICT OF KOOTENAY .- Wild Horse Creek, Perry Creek and French Creek.

DISTIRICT . JARIBOO .- Barkerville, Lightning Creek, Keithley Creek, Quesnelmouth, Williams Lake and Omineca.

CITY OF VICTORIA DISTRICT .- Not divided.

And New Westminster City District. Cowichan District.

Comox District. Esquimalt District. See Constitution Act, 1871.

BRITISH COLUMBIA UNDER CONFEDERATION.

The Local Government has to provide - \$236,073 75
The Dominion Government has to pay - 282,301 96
The estimated revenue of B. Columbia for 1871 is 533,950 00
The Dominion Government takes - 363,500 00
Local revenue left - - - 170,450 00