Congregation and that the Communion be dispensed. As the Church was on the Wallace side of the road it was thought advisable to communicate with the Presbytery of Stratford, and at a meeting of the Presbytery of Guelph on the 12th day of January, 1863, the permission of the Presbytery at Stratford was received. Dr. James Middlemiss, Clerk of the Presbytery, was instructed to give due notice and to thereafter organize a Congregation. On May 5, 1863, Dr. Middlemiss reported to Presbytery that he had organized the Congregation and laid on the table the Communion Roll, containing twenty-seven names, as follows:—George Patterson, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Smart, Mr. and Mrs. William Bent. Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Gray, Mr, and Mrs. Thomas Purdie, John Laybourne, Mr. and Mrs. John Patterson, Mary Patterson, Andrew Cowan, John McComb, Thomas McComb, John Yeats, Mr. and Mrs. Willis McLaughlin, George Frier, William Falconer, George Gibson, Mr. and Mrs. James Muirhead, Andrew Carswell, James Carswell. Dr. Middlemiss also reported that it was the unanimous wish of the congregation that Andrew Carswell and William Bent be appointed Ruling Elders. Presbytery thereupon confirmed the Communion Roll and approved the appointment of the Elders, and instructed Dr. Middlemiss to give due notice of a day upon which he would attend at the Church to ordain the Elders and dispense the Communion; accordingly on the 27th day of June, 1863, Dr. Middlemiss, assisted by Richard Fair, James Wilson and John McKay, Ruling Elders of the Rothsay Congregation, ordained Andrew Carswell and William Bent as Elders, and on the following day, Sunday, June 28th, for the first time the Communion was dispensed to the twentyseven already named members, and the following were received into the membership of the Church and received the Communion:—James Martin, Margaret Ann Carswell, Samuel Leslie, Mrs. Leslie, Agnes Patterson, Sam Leslie, Jr., Mrs. M. Leslie and Mrs. Jane Gregory. Of those who were members at this the first Communion the only survivors who are still members of the Congregation on this the fiftieth anniversary are Andrew Carswell and James Martin,

Dr. Middlemiss continued as Moderator, services being held as often as supply could be obtained until the 8th day of October, 1864, when the Rev. Daniel Anderson was inducted as Minister in charge of the Rothsay and the Wallace and Minto Townline Church, and from this time services were regularly conducted, Mr. George Patterson being the first Precentor. During Mr. Anderson's pastorate the records read that the congregation grew in numbers and that the rules of the Church was strictly enforced; frequently some brother was asked to explain his non-attendance at the Sunday