Winnipeg; Dr. O. C. Edwards, Qu'Appelle; Dr. LeFevere, Vancouver. The President and Secretary ex officio.

Dr. Wright, the President, then read his inaugural address.

The meeting then adjourned until 8 p.m., for discussion of the amendments to the by-laws.

8 p.m.

A prolonged discussion on the by-laws took place, and was about as interesting as such discussions generally are.

Dr. Trenholme, of Montreal, gave the following notice of motion:

"That the Nominating Committee shall be appointed by and for each province by the members present thereof at the annual meeting."

August 13th.

The meeting was called to order at 9.30 a.m. Dr. Wright presiding.

The minutes of the previous meeting were read and confirmed.

Mr. Niblock, Assistant Superintendent of the Western Divison of the C.P.R., was introduced by the President, and addressed the meeting on behalf of the new hospital now being built at Medicine Hat:

Dr. F. W. Campbell and Dr. T. A. Rodger, of Montreal, gave information on behalf of the Committee on Reciprocity of Registration.

Dr. Campbell expressed the view that it would be impossible to secure reciprocity between Canada and England under existing circumstances.

The Committee was continued.

At the three sessions of the 13th papers were read by Drs. Adam Wright, G.A. Kennedy, V.P. Gibney, Buller, Grasett, James Ross, James Stewart, Reeve, Whittaker, Shepherd, Bulkley, I. H. Cameron, Praeger, and Dupuis. Many interesting discussions took place as will be reported hereafter.

Dr. Stewart, of Pictou, moved, seconded by Dr. Roddick, "That the President nominate a committee to confer with the provincial and local societies and approach the Federal and Local Governments with a view of reducing the tariff on surgical instruments."—Carried.

Dr. P. S. Connor, on behalf of the American visitors, in a happy manner, thanked the Association for having invited the American delegates.

Cheers were then given for the American delegates.

The Treasurer's report, audited by Drs. Buller and LaChapelle, was received and adopted by motion.

The report shows that after paying certain liabilities there will be a balance of \$47.93 in hand. Regrets were expressed that the Association would be unable to present the usual honorarium to the Secretary, who had done an immense amount of work in connection with this meeting.

Dr. Stewart, of Pictou, Convener, reported on on behalf of the Nominating Committee, as follows:

Place of Meeting .- Toronto.

President.—Dr. James Ross.

Secretary.—Dr. James Bell.

Treasurer .- Dr. W. H. B. Aikins.

Vice-Presidents.—British Columbia, Dr. E. Berts; N.W.T., Dr. Brett; Manitoba, Dr. R. Spencer; Ontario, Dr. Bruce Smith; Quebec, Dr. E. P. LaChapelle; New Brunswick, Dr. Holden; Nova Scotia, Dr. L. Johnston; Prince Edward Island, Dr. McLeod.

Local Secretaries.—British Columbia, Dr. Fagan; N.W.T., Dr. Rutledge; Manitoba, Dr. H. Higginson; Ontario, Dr. J. J. Farley; Quebec, Dr. J. Elder; New Brunswick, Dr. Raymond; Nova Scotia, Dr. W. S. Muir; P. E. I., Dr. Warburton.

The following Standing Committees were appointed:

Necrology.—Drs. Hingston, A. H. Wright, and Geo. Ross.

Medical Education and Literature.—Drs. Dupuis, I. H. Cameron, and Mullin.

Prize Essays.—Moved by Dr. Bell, seconded by Dr. Stewart, Pictou, "That no Committee be suggested this year as there are no prizes offered."—Carried.

Climatology and Endemic Diseases.—Drs. Oldright and Bryce, Toronto; Campbell and LaChapelle, Montreal; Parker, Halifax; Jukes, Regina; Robillard, Ottawa; Patterson, Winnipeg; Milne, Victoria; Kennedy, McLeod, N. W.T.

Ethics.—The President, and President-elect, and the eight Vice-Presidents.

Committee on Arrangements.—Drs. James Ross, W. B. Geikie, Oldright, Graham, Strange,