of Nova Scotia" of the same date (1780) reproduced herewith (Map No. 40, 41), which shows the Passamaquoddy region, the St. John to above the present Fredericton, and the region at the head of the Bay of Fundy with much greater accuracy and on a much larger scale than his general map; it marks also, and it is the only contemporary map known to me which does so, the bounds of all the old townships. It shows, however, nothing above tidal waters. Of course Governor Carleton had various MS. maps also at his disposal, but none of them could have showed anything of importance not included in these two, and I have no doubt that these were the ones used in dividing the province, the larger scale map as far as it extended and the other for regions beyond that. This is confirmed not only by the general probabilities of the case, but also by the manner in which certain of the peculiarities of those maps are reflected in the original county lines, such for example as the very westerly and soon changed position of the Kings-Westmorland line later noted, and the change discussed below in the northern boundary of Charlotte between the Warrant or Charter of 1785 and the Act of 1786. The fact that the larger of these maps is the only one known on which the old townships are fully marked, and that five of the townships were adopted in toto as parishes, and three of them were adopted as county lines, further confirms this supposition. I would not be surprised if copies of these two maps were yet discovered in some archives, with the original county and parish lines marked by hand upon them.

We naturally inquire next, how much the division as established in 1786 owes to inheritance from an earlier period. The parishes will be considered by themselves later, but so far as the county lines are concerned, they are almost a new creation. In the preceding period, and down to May, 1785, the province included only two counties, Sunbury and Cumberland, separated by a line running magnetic north to the Canada boundary from a point twenty miles east of St. John (see map No. 16, and page 226). In establishing the new lines, no attention was paid to this older division unless the starting point and direction of the line separating the river counties from Northumberland and Westmorland, was suggested by the starting point and direction of the old line; the two were parallel (or nearly), but this may have been merely a physiographic coincidence with no causal connection. Three county lines were determined by old township lines, namely, the original eastern boundary of St. John and both the northwestern and the south-eastern lines of Sunbury, but otherwise the lines were all established de novo.