NAYS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Atkins. MacDonald Barootes, (Halifax), Beaudoin. Macquarrie, Bolduc. Meighen, Carney, Murray, Chaput-Rolland, Nurgitz, Cochrane. Oliver. Cogger, Ottenheimer. David. Phillips, Di Nino. Poitras. Doody, Robertson. Grimard, Ross. Johnson, Rossiter. Kelleher. Simard. Kinsella, Spivak, Lavoie-Roux, Sylvain, Lynch-Staunton, Teed-33.

ABSTENTIONS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Nil

[Translation]

THIRD READING—MOTION TO ADJOURN DEBATE NEGATIVED

Hon. Eymard G. Corbin: Honourable senators, since we are continuing with third reading debate on Bill C-18 and since I am not at all satisfied with the way Senator Simard answered my questions, I move, seconded by the Honourable Senator Graham, that the debate be adjourned.

[English]

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: It is moved by the Honourable Senator Corbin, seconded by the Honourable Senator Graham, that further debate on the motion for third reading of Bill C-18 be adjourned.

Is it your pleasure, honourable senators, to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Senators: Yes. Some Hon. Senators: No.

An Hon. Senator: Will this be a 15-minute bell?

Hon. Royce Frith (Leader of the Opposition): There will be no 15-minute bell this time. It will ring for an hour.

The Hon. The Speaker pro tempore: Honourable senators, I am informed by the Clerk Assistant that the bell will ring for an hour.

Senator Simard: Unless we agree.

[The Hon. the Speaker.]

Hon. Gildas L. Molgat (Deputy Leader of the Opposition): There will be no 15 minute bell. We are following the rules. The rules say an hour and it will be an hour!

Senator Frith: Listen to that, children! The next time you ask to adjourn the debate, we will see how you feel about it.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Honourable senators, is it your pleasure to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Senators: No. Some Hon. Senators: Yes.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Will those honourable senators in favour of the motion please say "yea"?

Some Hon. Senators: Yea.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Will those honourable senators opposed to the motion please say "Nay"?

Some Hon. Senators: Nay.

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: In my opinion, the "nays" have it.

And two honourable senators having risen:

The Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Please call in the Senators.

• (1050)

Hon. the Speaker pro tempore: Honourable senators it was moved by the Honourable Senator Corbin, seconded by the Honourable Senator Graham, that further debate on the motion of Senator Simard for third reading of Bill C-18 be now adjourned.

Motion in amendment negatived on the following division:

YEAS

THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Corbin,	LeBlanc
Fairbairn,	(Beauséjour),
Frith,	Leblanc (Saurel),
Gigantès,	Molgat,
Graham,	Olson,
Hébert,	Robichaud,
Kirby,	Stewart,
	Thériault—14.