5. The Council hereby appoints the following persons as initial members of this subcommission:

Mrs. Bodil Begtrup (Denmark). Miss Minerva Bernadino (Dominican Republic). Miss Angela Jurdak (Lebanon). Rani Amrit Kaur (India). Miss Mistral (Chile). Mrs. Vineot (1) (France). Miss Wu Yi-Fang¹ (China), and, in addition, the names of one national each from Poland and the U.S.S.R. to be transmitted to the Secretary-General, not later than 31 March, 1946, by the member of the Council for the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, and three members appointed by the Commission on Human Rights to serve as ex-officio members of this subcommission.

Resolution of the Economic and Social Council of June 21, 1946:-

Commission on Human Rights—Resolution adopted 21st June, 1946 (documents E/56/Rev. 1 and document E/84, paragraph 4, both as amended by the Council)

THE ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COUNCIL, having considered the report of the nuclear Commission on Human Rights of 21st May, 1946 (document E/38/Rev. 1)

Decides as follows:-

We now come to the section of the documentation which gives the terms of reference of the Commission on Human Rights.

- 1. Functions—The functions of the Commission on Human Rights shall be those set forth in the terms of reference of the Commission, approved by the Economic and Social Council in its resolution of 16th February, 1946, with the addition to paragraph 2 of that resolution of a new sub-paragraph (e) as follows:—
- (e) any other matter concerning human rights not covered by items (a), (b), (c) and (d).

That is items A, B, C and D as they appear on page 4 of this document enumerating the functions of the Commission on Human Rights.

- 2. Composition.
- (a) The Commission on Human Rights shall consist of the one representative from each of eighteen members of the United Nations selected by the council.
- (b) With a view to securing a balanced representation in the various fields covered by the commission, the Secretary-General shall consult with the governments so selected before the representatives are finally nominated by these governments and confirmed by the Council.
- (c) Except for the initial period, the term of office shall be for three years. For the initial period, one-third of the members shall serve for two years, one-third for three years, and one-third for four years, the term of each member to be determined by lot.
  - (d) Retiring members shall be eligible for re-election.
- (e) In the event that a member of the Commission is unable to serve for the full three-year term, the vacancy thus arising shall be filled by a representative designated by the member government, subject to the provisions of paragraph (b) above.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> In accordance with the procedure laid down by the Economic and Social Council, Madame Lefaucheux has since been nominated in place of Madame Vienot. Similarly, Mrs. W. S. New has been nominated in place of Miss Wu Yi-Fang.