GREECE

GENERAL DATA and GOVERNMENT

GREECE (HELLENIC REPUBLIC) IS A PARLIAMENTARY REPUBLIC.

Constitution. All constitutional changes introduced by the military regimes which ruled Greece between 1967 and 1974 were abrogated on Aug 1, 1974, when Greece provisionally restored the 1952 Constitution. On Dec 8, 1974, Greece was declared a republic after a referendum rejected the monarchy and provided for the establishment of a parliamentary democracy headed by an interim President. On Jun 7, 1975 parliament approved (despite opposition boycott) a new Constitution which designates Greece as a "parliamentary presidential republic" and provides for a powerful President.

power is vested in the President who is elected for a Executive. 5-year term by 2/3 majority in parliament. The President appoints and can remove the premier (the leader of the party with an absolute majority in parliament) and dissolve parliament. The President, who is also supreme commander of the armed forces, can declare war and sign peace treaties after consultation with the government. The President can bypass both government and parliament by presenting an issue directly to the people for a referendum vote. In the event of the President's death, parliament will elect a new President for a full term.

<u>Legislative</u> power is vested in the inicameral parliament whose members are elected for a 4-year term and who can override the President's veto by an absolute majority.

Local Government. For administrative purposes, Greece is divided into 52 prefectures. The Athens prefecture is subdivided into 4 subprefectures.

Election Qualifications. All adults aged 20 years or older are enfranchised.

CHIEF GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS

Head of State:

President Constantine Karamanlis - since

May 15, 1980.

Head of Government:

<u>Premier</u> Andreas Papandreou - since

Oct 21, 1981.

Economic Coordination

Minister:

Apostolos Lazaris - since Oct 21, 1981.

Foreign Minister:

Ioannis Haralambopoulos - since

Oct 21, 1981.